Your DayBack for FileMaker Account

Your account in DayBack is much like the accounts you have in any of the other online applications you use.

In this article


Signing Out or Switching Accounts

DayBack includes a FileMaker script that will sign you out of your account so you can sign into another. This can be useful if your trial has expired and you'd like to sign into another account.

To sign out, select "Script Workspace" from FileMaker's Script menu, the search for the script named "Sign Out - DayBack". Select the script and click the "run" triangle to sign out as shown below.

Note: to be safe, quit FileMaker and then reopen your file after you've signed out this way.

You can also sign out by clicking on the 3-dots menu in the upper right and clicking "Sign Out" (those dots are sometimes replaced by a green envelope if you have unread announcements):


How Many DayBack Accounts Does Each User Need?

Usually just one. Though developers may have several. The account in DayBack stores your settings and those include the field mapping for showing your FileMaker tables in DayBack. Since this field mapping varies from file to file, you'll likely have a separate DayBack account for each FileMaker solution that contains DayBack. For users, that's just one account, but FileMaker developers will likely have one account for each DayBack-enabled solution they work on: though in some cases those may share an account with a client who's also a DayBack admin.

DayBack is sold per user, and users aren't necessarily everyone in your company, just those people who need access to the DayBack Calendar interface. 


What's Linked to My DayBack Account? Can I Share My Account with Another User?

Each DayBack account supports three simultaneous logins-- be that a user and a developer sharing the same account, or a user logged into their laptop and desktop at the same time. (Please get in touch if you need a plan where more than 3 simultaneous logins are permitted--for example, you have a semi-public WebDirect site where users log in anonymously.)

In addition to the field mapping and settings, your DayBack account contains your bookmarks and, if you're using DayBack with Google, Office 365, or Basecamp calendars, it also includes permission to access those calendars. Keep this in mind when sharing your DayBack account as you're also sharing access to these calendars and to your bookmarks. 


What is My DayBack "Group"?

You have a personal account in DayBack, described above, and you're also part of a "group": a collection of users that share the same configuration in DayBack. A group is like your "company's" account. 

A number of things are shared across all the users (personal accounts) in your group. Users in a group share the same settings in Admin Settings, including which sources are visible for the users of that group. That includes custom actions, event actions, button actions, and CSS. Any bookmarks shared beyond "just me" are available to the group.

If you're a DayBack admin, you can invite new users into your group on the "Users & Billing" tab inside DayBack's Admin Settings. 

Still need help? Message Us Message Us