Managing Users & Licenses

Overview

You'll manage your DayBack subscription and invite other users to your group from the admin settings inside DayBack. Any DayBack administrator can do this.

DayBack for Salesforce relies on the Salesforce App Exchange to allocate users. More on that below.

In this article


Purchasing DayBack

Purchasing

To purchase DayBack you'll first need to start a trial. If you have one gong already, log-in and head to admin settings. If you don't have a trial, please start one here

Once you're logged in, click "Purchase DayBack" and you're almost done. 

How many users to purchase

Note that DayBack will set up your purchase with as many users as you've invited to your trial: you can change that number of users when finalizing your subscription as shown above. If you reduce the number of users, DayBack will deactivate the last few users you've invited so that the number of active users matches the number of users you've purchased. You can then deactivate and reactive users until you have the correct users active. Note that you can add users at any time.


Adding, Inviting, and Removing Users

Inviting users and managing their access

Note: Managing users is a bit different in Salesforce where DayBack picks up the permissions you've assigned in your org. Scroll down for Salesforce-specific instructions.  

Once you've logged in as an administrator, you'll have access to the Groups section in admin settings. There you can see all the users in your group and invite as many users as your license supports.

You can also decide which users are also DayBack admins (you can have more than one) and which users have read-only access.

When you invite a new user to your group DayBack will send them a short email letting them they've been invited and telling them the name of your group. The email also contains instructions for logging in using their email address and a new password created for them by DayBack. Once they log in they'll be able to change this password on their own Admin / Settings screen.

Adding more users to your plan

The number of users you can add to your group depends on your license and you'll see the number available at the top of the "Users & Billing" tab (where it says "4 remaining" in the screenshot below). When you have a trial of DayBack you'll have no user limits and can invite as many people as you'd like.

To increase the number of users on your subscription, click "Manage Subscription" in the upper right of the Users & Billing section (screenshot above) and click "Configure" as shown below.

Removing users

Delete a user permanently by clicking the red x beside their name. Or mark the user inactive by selecting their name and the flipping the "active" switch to off. Marking users as inactive is a great way to make room for new users as your team changes. (Note that you can't delete yourself or mark yourself inactive.)

Note: Removing and deactivating users here won't automatically change the number of users billed on your subscription. That number is always shown here as "X user liecnses purchased" at the top of the screen. Click "Manage Subscription" then "Configure" to increase or decrease the number of users on your plan.


Managing Users & Licenses in DayBack for Salesforce

Assigning Licenses to Users

If you don't see DayBack after you've purchased your license, or you see "insufficient privileges" beside your user account, it may be that you just need to assign DayBack to specific users. Here is how Salesforce describes this:

When you install a licensed managed package in your organization from AppExchange, you purchase a certain number of licenses from the package developer or publisher. You can assign each license to a user within your organization. If you assign all available licenses, but would like to grant licenses to additional users, you can reassign a license or purchase more. To get more licenses, contact the publisher of the managed package.

Their instructions for assigning users can be found here:  Managing Licenses for Installed Packages

Authorizing Users

When you installed DayBack the default is for users self-authorize, but you can change this to permit any admin-approved users to use DayBack. To change this, search for "Manage Connected Apps" from the Setup menu and click "Edit" beside DayBack's listing. Under "Permitted Users", change the value to "Admin-approved users are pre-authorized". You can then add Profiles and Permission Sets to the app on the lower part of the page.

If you're using custom profiles, you'll need to teach DayBack which profiles are allowed to use it. 

To do this, search for "Visualforce Pages" from the Setup menu. Find "DayBack" in the list (click "D" in the list header) and click "Security" beside the DayBack listing. Add any profiles that should be able to use DayBack from the list at the left.

Modifying Your Billing Information, Adding More Licenses, and Cancelling

All these licensing options are available in the App Exchange. Visit  DayBack's listing on the App Exchange and log in. Click on your name and select "My Account"; then select "More Actions" beside DayBack to see your account options.


Entering a Licenses in DayBack Classic (for FileMaker 13-18)

Here's how to enter your license for the older DayBack Classic connecting to FileMaker CWP. (The new DayBack for FileMaker 19 and higher uses the license management described at the top of the page.)

Once you've purchased a license to DayBack Online you'll receive an email with your order number and license information (this info also appears on screen as soon as you complete your purchase). Here's an example of the info you'll want to paste into DayBack Online:

Order Number: SEE150502-3088-13105 
Email: [email protected] 
Registered To: MyCompany, Inc. 

To enter this information, navigate to the "Settings" tab in DayBack's left-hand sidebar and then click the "Administrator Settings" button. You'll see a "License and Billing" tab on the left. Click that and you'll see your current billing status and a button for entering a new license. (If your DayBack trial has expired you may see this button when you start up DayBack.)

Past your order number, email, and registered to name into the fields provided and click "Activate".

Troubleshooting

If your activation is rejected it may be that you included labels like "Email: " in your submission, or simply mistyped your order number.

In rare cases, your company firewall may block access to our activation server. To see if this is the case, try to open  https://dayback.io/ by hand. You should see our logo and nothing else: if you don't see our logo you'll likely need to ask your network people to "whitelist" our license server: dayback.io

If none of this is helping, please don't hesitate to  get in touch.

Still need help? Message Us Message Us